- Contact Us
Local law enforcement issues marijuana law reminders
Local law enforcement agencies are reminding residents today on 4/20 that driving under the influence of marijuana is not only dangerous, but against the law.
Under Virginia law, it is also illegal to have an opened container of marijuana in the passenger area of the vehicle.
Driving while high on marijuana can slow reaction times, impair cognitive performance, and make it difficult to maintain lane position.
Designate a sober driver or utilize a ridesharing service or cab to make it home safe.
Driving while under the influence of drugs is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia and penalties can include up to 12 months in jail, $2,500 fine, 12 month loss of driving privileges, and completion of certain safety programs.
Remember, if you feel different, you drive different.
For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.