Skip to content

SVEC awards scholarships to area high school seniors


Shenandoah Valley Electric Cooperative (SVEC) announced by email the awarding of  $10,000 in scholarships to area high school seniors.

Madison Haines and Jordyn Hansbrough of Millbrook High School, Trinity Hasse of Luray, Hayden Hershey of Strasburg have each received $1,000 scholarships.

Turner Ashby’s Evan Kulp, Sydney Orndorff of James Wood and Handley High School’s Jailynn Rivera have also received $1,000 scholarships.

The SVEC Operation Round Up Committee selected the recipients.

The funds come from SVEC members rounding up their bills to the next dollar.

The next deadline for grant funding is June 14 with applications available here.

Additional Scholarships were awarded by the Virginia, Maryland and Delaware Association of Electric Cooperatives.

Rebekah Clouse and Benjamin Tollok both of James Wood along with Sherando’s Michaela Koch have received $1,000 scholarships as well.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

Related Posts