Warren County lifts burn ban; Frederick County’s still in effect

In response to the recent rain, Warren County Department of Fire and Rescue Services has lifted the burn ban.

Residents are still urged to use caution when performing open air burning activities and to burn only lawful materials.

Open air burning is still prohibited in the Blue Mountain and High Knob communities due to a Warren County Ordinance.

The burn ban was originally put into place the morning of November 16th in response to the extreme atmospheric and drought conditions and the additional smoke in the area from wildfires throughout Virginia and West Virginia which impacted air quality.

Frederick County is still under an open air burn ban.

This prohibits all outdoor fires like bonfires and camp fires.

This does not include barbecue grills, smokers, or any device that uses a chimney or stack.

Violations of burning regulations can result in a Class 1 Misdemeanor which carries a penalty of up to $2,500 and up to a year in jail.

Responsible parties can also be held liable for damages and costs of firefighting operations.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

State Fire Marshal’s Office issues fireworks warning

The State Fire Marshal’s Office is reminding residents to leave fireworks to the professionals this 4th of July.

Many localities prohibit the sale, possession or use of all fireworks and violations can lead to a Class 1 Misdemeanor which is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to one year in jail.

In general, any firework that shoots a projectile, explodes or moves on the ground or in the air is illegal in Virginia.

If planning to use permissible fireworks this year, remember to keep water and a hose handy, soak any used or unused fireworks before discarding, and never point or throw fireworks at anyone.

For a full list of legal fireworks in Virginia, click here.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

FCSO reminds motorists of school bus safety

Children are back to school across the Valley with Frederick County Public Schools returning on Monday.

The Frederick County Sheriff’s Office would like to remind motorists to be extra cautious in school zones and around buses.

School zone signs will be turned back on during designated times.

Some of those with lower speed limits enforced.

Passing a school bus from any direction is a Class 1 misdemeanor under the Reckless Driving statute.

This is important because children entering or exiting a bus can be unpredictable.

The only time motorists can pass a school bus with it’s stop sign out is if the roadway is divided by a positive barrier like a grassy median or jersey wall.

Cars travelling in the same direction the bus must stop but those on the other side of the barrier may continue.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.