Virginia’s spring burning regulations begin

Virginia Department of Forestry used by permission from VDF Communication Specialist Cory Swift-Turner

The Virginia Department of Forestry (DOF) joins fire departments across the state to announce the beginning of the spring fire season and raise awareness for the 4 pm Burning Law that is now in effect through April 30th.

The statewide burning law prohibits outdoor burning before 4 pm within 300 feet of woods or dry grass.

Violation of the burning law is a Class-3 misdemeanor punishable with fines up to $500.

Those who allow a fire that results in property damage can be liable for suppression costs.

Between Virginia’s fall and spring fire seasons, the spring season accounts for more than 60% of fires in the Commonwealth with an average of 700 fires.

The rising temperatures, dry and windy weather, and abundant fuel from dead vegetation and leaves increase the potential for wildfires and make them difficult to extinguish.

The Virginia Department of Forestry wants to remind citizens to never leave a fire unattended, keep a shovel, rake or hose close by to control a fire, and avoid burning in windy conditions or adding fuel after midnight.

Individual cities or counties may have specific burn laws to keep in mind.

For more information on the 4 pm Burning Law, click here.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

Frederick county sheriff’s office issues warning

The Frederick County Sheriff Office is warning citizens about speeding after citing a 16-year-old driver for reckless driving.

The young driver was traveling 96 mph on a county road, not
interstate.

While speeding is often considered a victimless crime, there can be serious consequences.

Speed related crashes cause property damage, personal injury or death and it doesn’t have to a high rate of speed.

Bottom line is:

  •  Anything 20 mph over a posted speed limit, or over 85 mph, can be considered Reckless Driving by Speed.
  • Reckless Driving in Virginia is a Class 1 Misdemeanor that carries possible jail time.
  • A driver convicted in Frederick County for a reckless speed above 100 mph will most likely be given the chance to reflect upon their poor choices from inside the Northwestern Regional Adult
    Detention Facility

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

WPD investigate hit and run

lorenzo wheeler homicide

The Winchester Police Department is investigating a hit and run at Cody’s Auto on 32 West Cecil Street.

A white mini van possibly an older style Honda Odyssey or Dodge Caravan driven by a woman described as a petite Asian female caused property damage at the Cecil Street location and drove away.

Anyone with any information in the incident should contact the Winchester Police Department’s Officer Crosby.

Contact information and a picture of the vehicle is available at the Winchester Police Department Facebook page.

You can also use the P3 Tips App to leave a tip anonymously.