WFD prepares for bicentennial parade

The Woodstock Fire Department is now accepting applications to be a part of their 200th Anniversary parade which will be held on July 15th at 11 am in Woodstock.

Registration is open until June 30th with a link available here.

Awards will be given in a variety of categories including longest distance traveled, best marching band, best antique car, and many more.

Parade entry is complimentary but donations are welcome to the 100% volunteer fire department.

All entrants will receive a commemorative 200th Anniversary dash plaque.

Awards will be announced at 2 pm with a muster held immediately following on Court Street until 4 pm. 

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

Woodstock Fire Department celebrates 200 years

The Woodstock Town Council is honoring the Woodstock Fire Department for its 200 years of service to the community.

At Tuesday evening’s Woodstock Town Council meeting, a special resolution was passed honoring those 200 years and received by Department President Fleming.

Thanks to Shenandoah County and the Circuit Court Clerk, members of the fire department who attended the meeting were able to review the original constitution which established the original “Woodstock Fire Company” on March 10th, 1823.

The Bicentennial Birthday Bash starts at 4 pm today at the fire station in Woodstock and the public are invited to join in the festivities.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

Valor Awards recognize public safety workers

International Automotive Components Group

Shenandoah County Public Safety workers were recognized during the Valor Awards by the Chamber of Commerce at the American Celebration on Parade.

Sgt. Warren Puff and Master Firefighter Brandon Diehr were awarded the Gold Medal of Valor.

ECC dispatcher Mary Colt posthumously won Dispatcher of the Year which her family accepted.

Woodstock Fire Department’s Chief Aaron Sigler was named Volunteer Firefighter of the Year and Master Firefighter Jon Hammersly was awarded Career Firefighter and EMS Provider of the Year.

11 members of the Sheriff’s Office, Fire and Rescue, and State Police received Lifesaving Awards.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

9/11 Commemorative events around the region

9/11 commemorative events to be held in the area include a 911 challenge at Skyline High School stadium Front Royal starting at 7:30 a.m..

The Strasburg American Legion will host a ceremony at 8 a.m..

The Woodstock Fire Department has a remembrance at 8:30 a.m..

 A ceremony at Lake Frederick starts at 9 a.m..

Middletown will release a video on the town Facebook page at noon.

Shenandoah University will hold a remembrance at 2:30 p.m..

Clarke County high school has a ceremony starting at 6 p.m..

All events will be held tomorrow the 20 year since the 911 tragedy.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.