Skip to content

Three Frederick County School Board members sworn in

Three newly-elected Frederick County School Board Members were sworn into office at a meeting yesterday held in the Frederick County Public Schools Administration Building.

Daryl Bell (Opequon District), Frank Funes (Gainesboro District), and Edward “Scott” Sturdivant (Back Creek District) were all sworn in by Circuit Court Clerk Becky Hogan at a ceremony for new members.

Nina DeSantis was also sworn in for her role as Clerk of the Frederick County School Board as well as two deputy clerks, Dorenda Fisher and Cynthia Sousa.

The new members will begin their four year terms on January 1, 2024.

Superintendent George Hummer said, “We are excited to welcome our new School Board members and look forward to building upon the excellent foundation already established by previous boards.”

Newly Elected Board Member Dianna Klein and Deputy Clerk Tracy Ritenour could not attend the ceremony and will be sworn in at a later date.

To view the full release on meeting, click here.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

Related Posts