Skip to content

VDF reminds citizens spring fire season is about to begin

The Virginia Department of  Forestry (VDF) reminds citizens that spring fire season begins Feb. 15.

Virginia law prohibits any outdoor burning before 4 p.m. each day from Feb. 15 through April. 30.

After 4 p.m. winds generally decrease and moisture in the air increases however before burning you should check the forecast.

Stay at least 300 feet away from woodland, brush or fields with dry grass or flammable materials.

Any fire after 4 p.m. needs to be tended to at all times and not added to after midnight.

Call your local fire station to inform them that you are burning.

Call 911 as soon as the fire gets out of control if that should happen.

Violations of the burn law could mean being charged with a class 3 misdemeanor and a possible $500 fine.

For more news from across the Shenandoah Valley, click here.

Related Posts